Scientific Advisory Board

Strong committed leadership focused on advancing the future of pain management
Prof. Daniel Sessler, MD, Medasense Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Daniel Sessler, MD

Prof. Sessler attended medical school at Columbia University, and subsequently completed pediatric and anaesthesia residencies at the University of California, Los Angeles. He later served as a Professor at the University of California in San Francisco and as Vice-dean for Research at the University of Louisville.

Prof. Sessler is an editor for Anesthesiology and serves as a reviewer for more than 50 journals. He has published a book on therapeutic hypothermia and more than 800 full research papers including several dozen in the New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet and JAMA. His papers have been cited more than 37,000 times, and 100 were accompanied by editorials.

Prof. Sessler founded and directs the Outcomes Research Consortium, a group that publishes a full paper every three days. He also serves as a director of the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER). Among his awards is a Fulbright Fellowship and the American Society of Anesthesiology Excellence in Research prize.

Chris Gilligan - Scientific Advisory Board, Medasense

Dr. Chris Gilligan, MD, MBA

Dr. Gilligan graduated with honors from Harvard University and received an MPhil from Cambridge University. He received his medical degree with honors from Yale University School of Medicine and was a resident in general surgery at Brigham & Women’s Hospital. He completed residency training in Emergency Medicine at the Harvard-affiliated emergency medicine residency and fellowship training in pain medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital.

He received an MBA from Harvard Business School and was a senior associate at TVM Capital.

Dr. Juliana Barr, MD, FCCM, Medasense Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Juliana Barr, MD, FCCM

Dr. Barr was the lead author of the Society of Critical Care Medicine’s (SCCM) 2013 Clinical Practice Guidelines for the Management of Pain, Agitation, and Delirium in Adult Patients in the Intensive Care Unit. Dr. Barr has published 48 peer-reviewed manuscripts and book chapters. She is currently a national faculty member of the SCCM’s ICU Liberation Campaign ABCDEF Bundle Collaborative in the U.S.

Prof. Elon Eisenberg, MD, Medasense Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Elon Eisenberg, MD

Prof. Eisenberg has published over 150 articles, book chapters and abstracts on various areas of pain. He is former Chairman of the executive board of the Israeli Pain Association. Prof. Eisenberg has been a member of Medasense’s scientific advisory board since its inception in 2008.

Prof. Eisenberg graduated from Sackler School of Medicine, Tel Aviv University, completed a residency in Neurology at Rambam Medical Center, Haifa Israel, and a Neurology-Pain Fellowship at Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School in Boston.